Browned Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

I finish class on Monday’s at 2 o’clock. I walk myself home and plop myself right down on the couch just in time to watch my three favorite shows on Food Network (Giada at Home, Barefoot Contessa, and Pioneer Women). It’s quite possibly my favorite part of the day.

Well, these cookies were a direct result of seeing Ree Drummond from Pioneer Women making them on the episode I watched. I thought to myself, “I have all the ingredients, I want a sweet treat, my friends love my baked goods…therefore, I’m making cookies.” And so it was decided. And since I’ve never used browned butter before, I was sold.

Now, I’ll write down the recipe here on my blog but honestly, The Pioneer Women has the recipe all nicely typed with pictures explaining detailing everything so clearly that I’ll just provide y’all with the link HERE.

But whatever recipe you refer to, these cookies are the bomb.com. Basically, they’re a simple update on the classic chocolate chip cookie and they are soooo chewy and melt-in-your-mouth. These babies rank up there as some of my favorite desserts (which is saying a lot).

IMG_6770 IMG_6768 IMG_6767_2Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (2 Sticks) Salted Butter
  • 1 cup Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 cup Sugar
  • 2 Eggs
  • 1 Tablespoon Vanilla
  • 2 cups All-purpose Flour
  • 2 Tablespoons (additional) All-purpose Flour (rounded Tablespoons)
  • 2 teaspoons (heaping) Instant Coffee Granules
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 1/2 cups Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips (or Chocolate Chunks)

The How To:

Melt a stick of butter over medium heat. Allow it to melt and then continue cooking it for 3 to 4 minutes, continually stirring with a spoon. The butter will bubble up and then turn a caramel/golden brown color. At this point, take it off the heat and transfer everything (even the brown solids at the bottom of the pan) to a heatproof bowl and allow it to cool COMPLETELY. For the other stick of butter, allow it to come to room temperature.

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees*.

Cream the softened butter together with the brown sugar and regular sugar until it’s all fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla and scrape the sides of the pan to make sure everything is all combined.

Now, pay attention. This next step is important: With the mixer on medium-low, very slowly drizzle in the cooled melted butter, making sure to add all the darker brown solids! MAKE SURE YOU POUR IT IN SLOWLY. Make sure everything is combined and then move to the dry ingredients.

In a separate bowl, combine the flour, coffee granules, baking soda and salt. Stir together and then add to the wet ingredients. Add in the chocolate chips. Taste the dough, let’s real, it’s the best part. Put the batter in the fridge for 15 minutes and then scoop out by the tablespoon. Then bake 9 minutes and oh my goodness, you’ve got yourself one heck of a cookie. I recomend serving it with some milk or a big scoop of vanilla ice cream (maybe make an ice cream sandwich if you’re feeling extra naughty!).

Brinkles Sprinkles

One thought on “Browned Butter Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Leave a Reply

