Hello Dolly Pie

You’re probably thinking, “Brinkley, Thanksgiving was this past week, I can’t even think about food and desserts anymore! I’m still so full!” Ha! Well I am somewhat thinking that too but oh well, this recipe is too good not to post!

I call it the Hello Dolly Pie because it has all the ingredients of a Hello Dolly Bar (who would’ve thought!). Some of you might shy away from this because it has coconut on it…let me tell you something, a little disclaimer of sorts: I don’t like coconut but for some reason, on this pie, it just adds the best finishing touch! So, don’t be scared if you don’t like coconut! It’s so yummy!

IMG_5059_2IMG_5081

IMG_5058

Selfie with my uncooked pie from Snapchat, hope it made you laugh!

It starts with a simple pecan pie filling:

Filling:

5 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed light brown sugar
3/4 cup light corn syrup
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
3 eggs, lightly beaten

Topping:

2 cups chopped pecans
1 1/2 cup shaved coconut
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 cup milk chocolate chips

Pie Crust:

I used a ready made pie crust from the frozen department at the grocery store because I didn’t have time to make one myself!

The How-To:

In bowl, combine the melted butter, brown sugar, corn syrup, and salt. Stir until fully combined and then add the vanilla. Set the mixture aside to cool slightly. Whisk the beaten eggs into the filling until smooth after the filling has cooled a bit (If you don’t let the batter cool and you add the eggs to soon, you might have a case of scrambled eggs…I don’t think you want that). Pour the batter into a cooked pie crust. Top the batter with the chopped pecans, coconut, and chocolate chips! Bake at 375 degrees for 75 minutes or until the batter doesn’t “wiggle” in the middle. The filling and toppings should be firm. (I’m sorry, I know this isn’t very technical…). If the crust begins to brown too much, just cover the pie in foil so it won’t burn! After fully baked, let the pie cool for an hour and then cut and serve! It’s a crowd pleaser, I promise.

Brinkles Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

