Homemade Mini Poptarts

So, a couple of days ago I made the CUTEST (more importantly: most delicious!) little mini Pop-Tarts. I think this ranks up there as one of the best things I’ve ever baked…for some reason, they just really satiated my taste buds! It all started when I had the homemade Pop-Tart from Perla’s here in Austin. Then, a week ago, I went to breakfast with a friend in Dallas at Bread Winners and we split another homemade Pop-Tart! There’s just something about a homemade pastry that just makes my eyes twinkle. And what on earth is better than a simple Pop-Tart? 

So, I set on a journey to make my own. I decided to make a fruit Pop-Tart with a vanilla glaze and a strawberry garnish. I planned on filling the Pop-Tart with a strawberry jam of sorts but then something amazing happened. I realized I still had a jar left of my favorite raspberry-peach jam that I got in Paris last summer. I first tried this jam in Paris while visiting last summer (in case you missed it, recap here and here!) and just fell in love. I spread that stuff on a french baguette and was good to go. Then give me a cup of tea and I was set! I had never had this flavor combo in the states so I decided to buy a couple jars and bring them back with me! I was so happy when my mom found it hidden away in our pantry! Go Mommy, go! (So basically, the gist of that little tangent of a story was that you can use whatever type of jam your heart desires to put into your Pop-Tarts…it is solely up to you! Or you could throw out the jam all together and just fill them with Nutella, holla OMG I want to make chocolate Pop-Tarts right now… #mouthwatering).

IMG_3115 IMG_3119 IMG_3120 IMG_3121

Ingredients:

Pastry

  • 2 Cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 Tablespoon Sugar
  • 1 Teaspoon Salt
  • 1 Cup Butter
  • 1 Egg
  • 2 Tablespoons Milk
  • 1 Additional Egg (to brush on pastry)

Filling

  • 1 Cup Jam/Preserve/Jelly
  • 3 Tablespoons All-Purpose Flour

Icing

  • 2 Cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1-2 Tablespoons Milk
  • Dash of Vanilla 
  • Strawberries (sliced for garnish)

Directions: 

Pastry Directions: For the pastry, cut the cold butter into small pieces. Using a pastry cutter, a KitchenAid, or your fingers, mix the butter with the flour, salt, and sugar until the butter is approximately the size of peas. Once you’ve achieved this, add the milk and one of the eggs and mix until the dough comes together. Mix until you can squeeze the dough in your hands and it is cohesive and stays together. Then, take the dough, split it half, wrap in plastic wrap, and stick in the refrigerator for at least 30 minutes. 

Jam Filling: Put the jam and flour in a small saucepan and bring to a boil. Once it’s reached a boil, reduce to a simmer and stir for 2 minutes. Allowing this to cook for 2 minutes will allow the jam to thicken as well as cook out the flour taste. Woo, woo.

Icing: To make the icing, mix the powdered sugar and vanilla with enough milk until you reach a consistency that will allow you to easily coat the top of the delicate pastry. If you add too much milk and the icing becomes to runny, just add a little powdered sugar. If it’s too thick, add more milk! 

Assembling the Pop-Tarts: Ok, now for the assembling part of this deal. Remove the dough from the refrigerator and let stand for 5 minutes or until softened enough to roll out with a rolling pin. Place the dough on a floured surface and roll out to a thin and even layer, about 1/4 of an inch. Do the same for the other half of the dough, as well. Cut both doughs into the same number of rectangles (this way you’ll have a bottom and a top). I made mine “mini” but you do whatever size suits your fancy. My “mini” Pop-Tarts measured roughly three-by-two inches and made a total of 18 Pop-Tarts. 

Beat the other egg and using your fingers or a pastry brush, brush the eggs over the entire surface of the first dough. By brushing the dough with egg, this allows the top layer to stick to the bottom. Place a heaping teaspoon of the jam on to the bottom layer/rectangle. Place the layer on top and using a fork, crimp the edges. Using a sharp knife or fork, poke the top of the Pop-Tart five times to make holes so as the steam can escape when the pastry is cooking. 

Place on a cookie sheet and bake the little babies at 350 degrees for 20 minutes or until the pastry is golden brown. Once the pastry has cooled, cover the top in that wonderful icing and top with a slice of strawberry just to be a little fancy. And bam, as easy as that you’ve got yousrelf some homemade Pop-Tarts! 

I made these for my Texas Soccer teammates and let me tell ya, they were well received! 

xoxo, Brinkles Sprinkles

Leave a Reply

