Lunch Lately: Spicy Chicken Caesar Salad

Something about me that you probably didn’t know: I love leisurely grocery shopping. Take me to Whole Foods or Central Market and I could walk through the aisles for days looking at all the interesting ingredients thinking about all the wonderful dinners I want to cook. And once I get to the baking aisles, you had better expect me to take my sweet time, that’s where the magic happens, really. My mind just starts to spin with things I want to make, bake, and create. Then by all the fresh produce and fruits, ahhh. I love it. Quirky? That’s fine by me!

Lately, every time I’ve ventured to the grocery store, I’ve been craving salads. (Good and healthy thing to crave right?) Living in Texas, summers are stifling and I never want to put something in my body that will make me feel overwhelmingly full throughout the day. So, this past week I’ve been the queen of a light and quick spicy chicken Caesar salad. Spicy because I add some red pepper flakes and cayenne pepper to the mix!

IMG_2886

Here’s what you’ll need (for one serving): 

  • 2-3 Cups Head of Romaine Lettuce
  • 1-2 Slices of Whole Wheat French Bread
  • 2 Chicken Tenders, thawed
  • Grated Parmesan Cheese
  • Caesar Dressing (I use Ken’s Lite Caesar Dressing)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • Cayenne Pepper
  • Red Pepper Flakes

How to:

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Season the chicken with salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper. Bake for 10 minutes. While the chicken is baking, dress your chopped lettuce with a spoon of grated parmesan and 1 tablespoon of the dressing. Or more if that’s how you like it…I don’t like my salad drowning in dressing so less is always more for me. Add a sprinkle of red pepper flakes and stir with two big forks to get everything nice and coated. Chop your whole wheat french bread into cubes and throw into the oven for 2-3 minutes or until you’ve achieved your crispiness crouton liking. Shred the chicken once cooled a bit and then throw the chicken and croutons on the salad and do one final mixin’. Bam, boom, done! 

It’s a quick and easy lunch (or dinner) that’s yummy in your tummy! Enjoy.

Leave a Reply

