Tea and Crumpets

High tea in London has got to be one of my favorite things ever. Last summer, I had high tea at Fortnum and Mason with Emily and it was by far one of the highlights of our trip. (Read all about last years London shenanigans here and here.)

Well, today, my mind started thinking about tea and crumpets and clotted cream and scones and tea sandwiches…drool. So, instead of finishing my marketing notes, I decided to look up all the best hotels to enjoy high tea in London, naturally. I’m traveling back to London this coming May and need to figure out where I’m going satisfy my high tea addiction in an utterly British fashion. Basically, marketing can wait.

But speaking of fashion…I found a high tea that stood out from the rest. Why? Because at Prêt-à-Portea at The Berkeley, they serve a completely designer-themed high tea! Prêt-à-Portea is inspired by the themes and colors of the fashion world and the menu is transformed every six months to follow the changing seasons in fashion. I MEAN, HOW COOL IS THAT?

To check out the latest fashion inspired menu, click here. They’re currently serving a Burberry Prorsum heart patterned ginger biscuit trench with caramel icing…swoon.

ImageImageImageImageImageImageImage
EVERYONE STOP AND LOOK AT THE ROYAL WEDDING INSPIRED AFTERNOON TEA…I’m dying. I love this. Complete with a dessert featuring Princess Beatrice’s Hat, I mean, yes.

Image

Prêt-à-Portea is definitely on my “high tea radar” (if that’s even a thing…?). Ugh, get me a cup of earl grey with a sugar cube and a dash of milk, please. Or a first class flight to London, I’ll take either.

Cheerio for now,

Brinkley

6 thoughts on “Tea and Crumpets

  1. Looks absolutely divine! I’m going to London in May, and I’m looking for the best high tea venues to visit while I’m there. I’m not sure that I can try this one because I’m going with my partner and I don’t think he would enjoy a fashionista high tea! Looks gorgeous though!

    • Yes, I think this fashion inspired tea should be left to a girls trip-no boys allowed, ha! I would highly recommend high tea at Fortnum and Mason. The atmosphere is magnificent and the food is delectable. I had such a wonderful experience that I’m thinking of going again when I’m over there this summer. I’d also look into The Ritz, The Goring, and The Dorchester. Can’t go wrong with any of them! Xx

  2. Hi, I have just seen your post and can recommend Pret a Portea – I have been many times and it’s fabulous! Can I also suggest afternoon tea at the Royal Opera House at Covent Garden? The dining room is amazing, with huge, beautiful windows; the service is excellent and the food is wonderful. I have only recently discovered it, although maybe the tea offering is new, and have been twice. I would find it difficult to choose between these two and prefer both of them to tea at The Ritz, although that’s great too.
    I realise that I am replying a long time after the original posts. I should also mention that the Berkeley (Pret a Portea) and The Ritz become booked up very quickly, so it’s a good idea to book well in advance, especially if travelling from another country. xx

Leave a Reply

