Oscars Recap, The Brinkley Way

I don’t watch the Oscars for the movies, I watch it for the fashion. Duh.

The only movie I saw that won something was Frozen. So, there’s that. I go for happy and fun, not intense and life-changing. I’m not about that life. Give me a RomCom and some popcorn and I’ve got a huge smile on my face. Add some cute actors to the mix and I’m sold. Hey Zac Efron…

I thought many of the actresses (and actors–the gentleman looked quite dapper) looked stunning. Some more than others, you know, but overall, lovely. Here are my top picks, in no particular order, mind you.

Anne Hathaway in Gucci. Is it just me or does she look like a dazzling disco ball? Yes, now you see it.

Image

Emma Watson in Vera Wang. 10 points for Gryffindor, Hermione!

Image

Charlize Theron in Dior. Black is the new black. She looks HAWT.

Image

Cate Blanchett in Armani Privé. Question to ponder: while this dress is stunning, how uncomfortable does it look to sit down in? Swarovski crystals all up in her backside, ya hear me?  

Image

Lupita Nyong’o in Prada. O.M.G. In. Sane. I die. This dress is spectacular and so is little Lupita. She looks like a cloud floating perfectly in the sky. I mean, maybe that’s a stretch but just go with me for now. 

Image

Jennifer Garner in Oscar de la Renta. Hey sista sista. Put your wings up my fellow Pi Phi. Loving your Gatsby style. 

Image

Jennifer Lawrence in Dior. I would volunteer as tribute if I got to wear b-e-a-utiful Dior dresses to all the red carpet events… District 12, where you at? Holla at me Hunger Gamers. 

Image

Best Dressed Nominee: Ellen. Yes. This is fabi. L.O.L.

Image

As for some awards. serious props to former Longhorn, Matthew McConaughey, for winning Best Actor. What a way to finish off Texas Independence Day. Alright, alright, alrightttt. UT is going cray. Hook ’em, baby.

Image

And then the best selfie of all selfies. The selfie that crashed Twitter. And Meryl Streep. She is one of my favorite actresses. I mean, I can quote every line of The Devil Wears Prada like it’s nobody’s business. Try me. 

rs_560x315-140302191111-560.Oscars-Twitter-Selfie.jl.030214

The best part about the Oscars? When it finished. 3.5 hours later and I find me thinking, why did I watch this entire thing? To each their own.

Have a wonderful week, darlings!

xoxo,

Brinkley

Leave a Reply

