Monmouth

Fun and formal. Formal and fun.

This past weekend, all the Pi Phi’s and Kappa’s came together in our best attire for our joint annual formal that is “formally” known as Monmouth. It’s called Monmouth because both Pi Beta Phi and Kappa Kappa Gamma were formed  on April 28, 1867 at Monmouth College in Monmouth, Illinois. History, folks.

Monmouth was this past Saturday night and it was so much fun! From taking a party bus all around Austin to packing a nice restaurant for dinner full of college kids to dancing the night away with my date, it was a wonderful night. And throw in some socializing with all my gal pals to say they looked pretty or their shoes were cute, you have my Saturday night in a nutshell.

But as for the details: I really never want to wear a pair of heels again. My feet still hurt from my insanely cute pair of glitter kate spade New York heels. Beauty is pain. No pain, no game. I still love them though, no worries. My roommates will see me wearing them around my apartment to break them in…imagine me in my pajama’s with a pair of 4-inch glittery heals, well, that’s me. Ya gotta do what ya gotta do.

There was an 80s cover band that was jamming the whole night and needless to say, I, along with everyone else, jammed with them. They were so great. Actually, they were more than great. They were fantastic.

There was a photo booth and face painters–which was so cute–but my date and I were too busy having fun to take time out of our night to wait in line for that stuff. Four face painters plus 750 people make for some pretty long lines…

It’s so fun seeing many of my friends dressed up. They looked so pretty in their dresses and heels. And all the young gentlemen looked wonderful were in tuxedos and bow ties. And you should know something about me…I’m quite the sucker for bow ties.

And finally, I got home at 3 in the morning. I had the best night’s sleep of my life. Lazy Sunday for real.

I was decked in kate spade New York for the night. Both my dress and my shoes were Kate Spade. You guessed it, Kate Spade is my absolute favorite. And then my pearl necklace and bracelet (on loan from Emily, thank you!) were from J.Crew. I know she let me borrow them but I think I need the necklace in my own jewelry box. You can’t have too many pearls… #rationalize

Image

pre-monmouth selfies, naturally

Image

 dylan, my date!

ImageImageImageImage

“i’m with the band” -some red head 80s cover band groupie

Image

#friends #xoxo

Image

dinner

ImageImage

candid shots, simply the best

Image

big little christmas card 2014? 

Ahhhhh this weekend was such a blast! Hope you had a wonderful weekend as well!

xoxo,

Brinkley

Leave a Reply

