Washington DC

20130708-204746.jpg

Washington Monument

20130708-185235.jpgHook ‘Em Horns, Abe
20130708-205455.jpg
Babop, Nanny, Davis, and I in front of the Washington Monument

20130708-185425.jpg

My mommy and her mommy and daddy!

20130708-185547.jpg

World War II Memorial

20130708-185627.jpg

Thomas Jefferson Memorial

20130708-185644.jpg

White House

20130708-185915.jpg

TJ Memorial

20130708-201041.jpg

Survived Day One!

Day One: Monuments, memorials, and more monuments.

What’s up Abe? We started out with a bang and went to the Lincoln Memorial first. That was honestly (get it, Honest Abe…I crack myself up) one of my favorite memorials. He’s HUGE and it was so awesome to finally see him in person after seeing him in history books since I was in elementary school!

Next, we headed to the Korean War Memorial. We made it there to the memorial and then “it” happened. IT STARTED TO POUR DOWN RAIN. Rain, rain, rain and more rain. With only some trees as coverage, we got soaked. OMG, and my hair. Lets not even talk about it…it instantly went up in a bun on the top of my head. My mom calls it the “Pebbles Top Knot” because I look like Pebbles from The Flintstones.

Well, we decided to go back to Lincoln to find shelter from the rain and of course when we get there, the rain decided to stop. Typical.

After drying off a bit, we then visited the Vietnam, Thomas Jefferson, Martin Luther King, World War II, Roosevelt, and George Mason Memorial. In total, that was eight memorials. Needless to say, we did tons of walking. And we wore our grandparents out. I’m talking, tired with a capital T. They were soooo happy to get back to the hotel and have a glass of wine and relax. Let’s just say, they deserved it…they were troopers.

All the monuments and memorials were so awesome. The Abraham Lincoln Memorial and Korean War Memorial were by far my favorites. Tomorrow, we’re going to hit up the Smithsonian. Can’t wait! Off to watch The Bachelorette! Xx.

OHHHHHH, we also went by 1600 Pennsylvania Avenue! Hey white house, hey! We did so much today! It’s beautiful! And because it had rained earlier in the day, the grass looked so green and the flowers pretty. Now, for real this time, I’m off to watch The Bachelorette with my Nanny and Mommy.

With much love,

Brinkley

Leave a Reply

